The Maltese Islands

Template One

The Islands: The Maltese archipelago consists of three main Islands, Malta, Gozo and Comino which are inhabited and three smaller Islands - Cominotto, Filfla and St Paul’s Island which are uninhabited.

Maltese Archipelago: Malta is the largest of the Islands with an area of 246 km squared. Gozo is 67 km squared while little Comino is only 2.7 km squared.

Longest distance on Malta:  27km

Widest Point: 14.5km

Population 2016:  420,158

Position: Located in the centre of the Mediterranean, the Maltese Islands are about 100 km south of Sicily.

Climate:  Malta has a typical Mediterranean climate with hot, dry summers and mild, humid winters. Average maximum temperatures in summer can reach over 33 degrees Celsius (91F) with temperatures in December dropping to an average of 12 degrees Celsius (53F).

Official Languages: Maltese and English. Many locals are multi-lingual.

Currency:  Euro

Health Service:  Modern Public and Private Hospitals.  Visitors from EU member states should carry a European Health Insurance card.

Public Transport:  Reasonably priced.  Main bus terminus is in Valletta (Capital City) providing access throughout the island. 

Accommodation: 15 five star hotels with 3500 rooms and 7210 beds, 44 four star hotels adding another 16,253 beds, three star hotels, guest houses and farm houses.

State: The Republic of Malta is a member of the Commonwealth and joined the European Union on 1 May 2004.

Currency: Euro. Many hotels and larger shops and restaurants also accept foreign currency.

Economy: Malta offers a modern infrastructure and service sector on a par with major European countries. Malta’s economy is expected to gain momentum this year and is expected to register the second highest growth in the Euro zone, with a GDP growth of 1.5 per cent. Following EU membership, Malta started attracting several international companies which took advantage of its favourable tax rate to set up shop on its shores. Malta is increasingly becoming a major finance hub. 

Entry requirements: No passport control for EU passport holders as Malta is party to the Schengen Agreement.

Religion: around 98% of the population is Roman Catholic and there are 400 churches on the island. Many other religious denominations are also represented.

Time zone: GMT +1